Sustainable use of the oceans is the basis for peace and prosperity

Marine protection means securing prosperity

Protect the Ocean - the Oceanwell campaign to protect the oceans

Oceanwell stands for sustainable use of the oceans. With the "Protect the Ocean" campaign, Maritime Natural Cosmetics is actively involved in protecting the oceans and their fauna. The first project of a long-term commitment is to protect the sea turtles on the beaches of the Ivory Coast. There, the marine biologists from Kiel support the coastal residents of Grand-Béréby in the protection of species, also with the aim of sustainable development of the region. For every Oceanwell product sold, ten cents go to our partners in West Africa.

With the "Protect the Ocean" campaign launched in January 2015, Oceanwell is taking concrete action on global marine conservation, as demanded by the United Nations in October last year to protect marine biodiversity.

At the heart of the project, which is being carried out in collaboration with the Ivorian initiators, are sea turtles on the beaches of Côte d'Ivoire, near the village of Grand Béréby.

Four turtle species live in this marine region, they are all in great danger. One reason for this, in addition to fishing, in whose nets the animals are caught as by-catch, is the coastal inhabitants, for whom collecting eggs and hunting for turtles on the beach is a tradition. Therefore, the participation of the population in the protective measures is an important success factor.

For the Ivorian initiators Alexandre Dah and Jose Gomez, sensitizing people to their coasts and turtles is the biggest challenge. In the meantime, fellow combatants have already found their way, who speak to humans as „Protecteur des Tortues" and actively support the endangered species.

Please visit also the multilingual Website of the Ivorian NGO CEM.

Hunting or egg-collecting is often the only source of income for the coastal inhabitants. This has led to a strong decimation of the turtle population and thus to a further restriction of the income opportunities of the villagers.

We want to break this vicious circle by showing people sustainable alternatives, e.g. Nature tourism. The measures range from regular daily and nocturnal patrols to transfers of turtle babies hatching on the beach into the sea.

This ensures the migration of the young animals from the beach to the sea and also protects dozens of adult animals from persecution.

The biologist Olaf Grell from Kiel advises the initiators on site. The participating villagers, mostly young people, receive a local monthly salary of about 80, - € for their employment. Up to 15 turtle keepers share the work on a 10 km long stretch of beach.

Recently, Olaf Grell has brought equipment such as flashlights, tents, markers and other aids to Grand Béréby. These items are funded by Oceanwell.

We will expand this commitment even more in the future. It will grow together with the brand and remain part of it.

With every purchase of an Oceanwell product, 10 cents go directly to the Sea Turtle Project in Grand Béréby.

Through videos or slideshows on Oceanwell's YouTube channel, Facebook and this home page, Oceanwell regularly reports on the project on the West African coast and other "Protect the Ocean" actions.

Der nachhaltige Umgang mit den Meeren ist Grundlage für Frieden und Wohlstand

Meeresschutz heißt Wohlstand sichern

Protect the Ocean – die Oceanwell-Kampagne zum Schutz der Meere

Oceanwell steht für nachhaltige Nutzung der Ozeane. Mit der Kampagne „Protect the Ocean“ setzt sich die Maritime Naturkosmetik aktiv für den Schutz der Meere und ihrer Fauna ein. Das erste Projekt eines langfristig geplanten Engagements dient dem Schutz der Meeresschildkröten an den Stränden der Elfenbeinküste. Dort unterstützen die Kieler Meeresbiologen die Küstenbewohner von Grand-Béréby beim Artenschutz, auch mit dem Ziel einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung der Region. Von jedem verkauften Oceanwell-Produkt gehen zehn Cent an die Partner in Westafrika.

Mit der im Januar 2015 gestarteten Kampagne „Protect the Ocean“ beteiligt sich Oceanwell ganz konkret an Maßnahmen zum globalen Meeresschutz, wie sie auch die Vereinten Nationen im Oktober vergangenen Jahres zum Schutz der Biodiversität in den Meeren fordern.

Im Mittelpunkt des Projektes, das gemeinsam mit den ivorischen Initiatoren durchgeführt wird, stehen die Meeresschildkröten an den Stränden der Cote d'Ivoire, nahe des Dorfes Grand Béréby.

Vier Schildkrötenarten leben in dieser Meeresregion, sie alle sind stark gefährdet. Eine Ursache dafür sind neben der Fischerei, in deren Netze die Tiere als Beifang geraten, auch die Küstenbewohner, für die das Sammeln der Eier und die Jagd nach Schildkröten am Strand Tradition hat. Daher ist die Beteiligung der Bevölkerung an den Schutzmaßnahmen ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor.

Für die ivorischen Initiatoren Alexandre Dah und Jose Gomez ist die Sensibilisierung der Menschen für ihre Küsten und die Schildkröten die größte Herausforderung. Inzwischen haben sich schon Mitstreiter gefunden, die als „Protecteur des Tortues“ mit den Menschen sprechen und sich aktiv für die bedrohten Arten einsetzen.

Besuchen Sie auch die mehrsprachige Webseite des Vereins CEM.

Die Jagd oder das Eier-Sammeln ist für die Küstenbewohner häufig die einzige Einnahmequelle. Das hat zu einer starken Dezimierung der Schildkröten-Population geführt und damit zu einer weiteren Einschränkung der Einkommensmöglichkeiten der Dorfbewohner.

 

Wir wollen diesen Teufelskreis durchbrechen, indem wir den Menschen nachhaltige Alternativen aufzeigen, z.B. Naturtourismus.

 

Die Maßnahmen reichen von regelmäßigen täglichen und nächtlichen Kontrollgängen bis hin zu Überführungen der am Strand schlüpfenden Schildkrötenbabies in das Meer. Damit wird die Wanderung der Jungtiere vom Strand ins Meer gesichert und auch dutzende erwachsene Tiere vor Verfolgung geschützt.

Der Biologe Olaf Grell aus Kiel berät die Initiatoren vor Ort. Die beteiligten Dorfbewohner, meist junge Menschen, erhalten für ihren Einsatz einen ortsüblichen Monatslohn von etwa 80,- Euro. Bis zu 15 Schildkrötenschützer teilen sich die Arbeiten auf einem 10 km langen Strandabschnitt.

Kürzlich hat Olaf Grell Ausrüstung wie Taschenlampen, Zelte sowie Markierungs- und andere Hilfsmittel nach Grand-Béréby gebracht. Diese Gegenstände sind von Oceanwell finanziert.

Wir werden in Zukunft dieses Engagement noch wesentlich erweitern. Es wird zusammen mit der Marke wachsen und ein Teil davon bleiben.

 

Mit jedem Kauf eines Oceanwell-Produktes gehen 10 Cent direkt an das Meeresschildkröten-Projekt in Grand-Béréby.

 

Über Videos oder Diashows auf dem Youtube-Kanal von Oceanwell, über Facebook und diese Homepage berichtet Oceanwell regelmäßig über das Projekt an der afrikanischen Westküste und weitere "Protect the Ocean"-Aktionen.